Drivers Safety Course & Deferred Disposition

Drivers Safety Course
Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may request that 1 charge against you be dismissed by taking a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course. However, you will lose this option if you do not request it within 10 working days of your citation date. Do not take the course until you have obtained permission from the court. Juveniles must appear in court.
Eligibility requirements for Driving Safety Course are as follows:
  1. You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest.
  2. You must possess a valid Texas Driver's License.
  3. You must possess Texas Liability Insurance valid the day of your request.
  4. You must pay the $109.10 or $134.10 if the violation occurred in a School Zone.
  5. You can not be charged with speeding in excess of 24 miles per hour (mph).
  6. You can not be currently taking the course for another citation.
  7. You do not have a commercial driver's license.
  8. You were not charged with a violation in a construction zone with workers present.
  9. Your driving record can not reflect completion of a driving safety course within the 12 months preceding the date of the alleged offense.
Eligibility Requirements
You must provide the court with a sworn affidavit of eligibility listing all requirements that must be notarized and filed with the court within 10 working days of your citation date. If you appear in person at the Court Clerk's Office please bring your valid Texas driver's license, valid insurance proof and payment. The court will notarize the court's affidavit for you at no charge. Upon the courts approval to take the course you will have ninety days in which to provide the court with the 2 following documents:
  1. The "court certificate" of completion of the driving safety course from an agency approved by the Texas Education Agency; and
  2. A certified copy of your driving record as maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Please request this immediately as it may take several weeks to get.
If these 2 documents are not filed with the court within ninety days you will be responsible for payment of the fine thereby having the offense reported to your driving record and a warrant may be issued for your arrest.

Forms
Deferred Disposition
You may be able to request that your citation be dismissed by complying with the terms and conditions of probation. However, you will lose this option if you do not request it within 10 working days of your citation date. Juveniles must appear in court.

Eligibility Requirements
Eligibility requirements for Deferred Disposition are as follows:
  1. You must pay the fee at the time of request. The fee is the citation price and a $50 special expense fee
  2. You can not have been charged with speeding in excess of 30 mph over the posted speed limit
  3. You can not have a commercial drivers license
  4. You can not be charged with a violation in a construction zone with workers present
You must provide the court with a sworn affidavit of eligibility listing all requirements that must be notarized and filed with the court within 10 working days of your citation date. If you are under the age of 25 years old you must attend a Drivers Safety Course and present proof of completion to the court.

Upon court approval for Deferred Disposition you will be placed on probation for a period of ninety days in order to comply with the terms and conditions of the court.

Upon completion of the terms and conditions of your probation, your citation will be automatically submitted to the judge for dismissal resulting in no conviction.

Failure to comply with the terms of probation will result in having the offense reported to your driving record and a warrant may be issued for your arrest.

You may mail in the completed and notarized form with payment within 10 working days of your citation date.

Forms